top of page


India Flag

The constitution of India has conferred every citizen above 18 years of age the right to vote.


The citizens of the nation directly elect the Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of state legislative assembly (MLAs).
Voters also vote for local bodies such as municipal corporations, municipalities, and Panchayati Raj institutions.


As per the Election Commission of India, citizens are eligible to become voters under the following conditions:

  1. Every citizen who is 18 years old on the qualifying date (January 1 of the year in case) unless disqualified, is eligible to be enrolled.

  2. Enrollment is only at ordinary places of residence.

  3. Enrollment is only at one place.

  4. Overseas Indians deemed to ordinarily reside

  5. Service voters deemed to be ordinarily resident at their home address.

The Election Commission of India is the election conducting body. It is an autonomous constitutional authority responsible for administering Union and State election processes in India. It has the powers of superintendence, direction and control of the preparation of the electoral rolls for the conduct of elections to the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Legislative Assemblies, and the offices of the President and Vice President in the country.

bottom of page